A Soul you Recognize Above the Gloom

Once in a life time, a person will appear

Someone who seems familiar and is automatically very dear

A person you can look upon from way across the room

A soul you immediately recognize above the harshness, above the gloom

This can be someone who has very similar features

You might imagine them hiding, long ago, beneath the bleachers

And though they seem oddly placed where they sit

You knew, at first glance, somewhere near you they’d fit

 

A man, when he sees this, can be courageous and wild

Eager for introductions, then to play as a child

A woman, as she takes notice, may with sweet entice draw the other near

Encouraging this familiar addition to conversation without fear

 

What can be done, for our experiences in the past

How can we keep the ‘good’ in it, to last

As the person who is familiar and odd

Appears in the doldrums as if sent, alone, from God

And for whom did this one appear

Where have they been – why are they here

Seize the moment and of course the day

And what if darkness take them away

Is a moment of true happiness worth the cost

Of the time in between ‘found happiness’ and ‘happiness lost’

 

When I saw you, I was stirred deep within

Of all that were there, you were closer than kin

So from you I chose to stay away

Dark history taught me opposites in nearly every way

In my head I was me, and then I was not

No one could listen, silently and slowly I fought

Yet, still you chose to come sit by my side

You went further still, in me you confide

After our initial ‘celebration’ you remained a clever friend

I did not believe it, not couldn’t, but wouldn’t comprehend

For if life taught me anything, it was never to trust

Friends were hateful, and love? True Love was only lust

Still you continued to show your handsome face

In my darkest moments of autonomic animosity… you came and shared with me that same space

 

Why?

 

You could have gone anywhere and made good use of your time

I felt I was stealing purity from the world, it turned in me toxic – self convicted of my crime

And then you let me hold your hand, even still I didn’t know

When you said you had to leave, I so didn’t want for you to go

I was taught to be polite and proper, to be quick to agree and send

No matter what emotion consumed me, to the others I was to attend

Rules do not make a man A man is God fearingly made

And as I watched you exit my room,  I wish you knew that I wished you’d stayed

Tomorrow is never promised to us, even this moment will soon be gone

A night of sorrow and deep despair can drag and seem so long

You came back the very next day so intriguing was my inward surprise

You kept your word, and always have, in spite of all their lies

 

Once in a life time, a person will appear

Someone who seems familiar and is automatically very dear

You said when you saw me, I was quite compelling

You never do what you did, (as per our conversation on the phone when you did the telling)

In your soul there is soooooo much bona fide truth

I cannot doubt it anymore, it is verified vastly by all this proof

You saw in me, what I now, see in you

You did what I was always forbidden to do

In many ways, you’ve helped to set me free

I knew that I knew this would NEVER EVER be

 

I may sound silly and that is just fine

I never had a genuine friend that I could call mine

A person you can look upon from way across the room

A soul you immediately recognize above the harshness, above the gloom

Then believe it

And receive it

This idea was MOST absurd

In holly wood for sure, but in real life I had never heard

And now here it is, here you are, and here am I

Writing this after midnight while I smile, as I cry

 

You may not believe that any of this is true

You might not want to consider that this is really about you

I have never been this healthy before … I don’t really even like candy

Still, the legitimacy of this whole dern thing, was written for you, ****

I’ve had alters that were children, I’ve had alters that cussed, cursed,

And one that even muttered

But I have never had such successful sweetness in my life

As I do now

Because of you

**** **** *******

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

